Get a Quote

Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH)

Code doesn't need to be complicated, we've unlocked it.

Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) - At what stage(s) does this apply during your build?

What the Regulations say...

Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) is a Credit-based Assessment of a New Dwelling, that measure it's performance in nine different area's of Sustainability. 

Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH) was never adopted in Scotland, it was abolished in Wales in 2014 and is currently being phased out in England. CSH can be required by Local Planning Authorities. 

Since 26th March 2015 CSH is no longer an applicable standard on newly submitted applications, however English Planning Officers can insist on CSH for existing sites. 

Getting that all important "Yes"

There are 3 stages - Pre-Assessment, Design Stage and finally Post Construction Stage. 

  • Achieve easy Credits - e.g. Daylight calculations, preferably while window sizes can still be altered.
  • The CSH Certificate is generally needed prior to occupancy. 
  • There are quick win Credits. 

Simple 5-Step Process

We will:

1. Review your Plans, Planning Conditions, Specification and liaise directly with your Planning Officer, Building Control Officer, suppliers and specification providers. 

2. Work with your Design Team. 

3. Set you up with a simple, easy to follow software framework. 

4. Complete the 3 stages. 

5. Complete your CSH Reports and Certificates within your deadlines. 

Which building regulations apply in your area?

Building regulations and energy assessments can vary according to which region your project is in. Use our checker to make sure you are aware of what you need.
Code for Sustainable Homes (CSH)