Get a Quote

Home Quality Mark (HQM)

A new volunary standard for building homes, to a level which stretches way beyond the requirements of Building Regulations.

Home Quality Mark (HQM) - At what stage(s) does this apply during your build?

What the Regulations say...

The Home Quality Mark (also known as HQM) was established by the BRE (Building Research Establishment) after Code for Sustainable Homes was scraped back in March 2015. The scheme is voluntary. In a similar way to Code for Sustainable Homes it has credits, categories and a scoring system. 

Getting that all important "Yes"

  • The Home Quality Mark (HQM) criteria is a 1,2,3,4 or 5 star rating. Like similar schemes in the past (such as EcoHomes and The Code for Sustainable Homes), HQM looks at the performance of the dwelling itself. Also takes into account site, surroundings, local amenities and aftercare.
  • Credits are only available before work starts on site.

Simple 5 - Step Process

We will:

1. Review your Plans, Planning Conditions, Specifications and liaise directly with your Planning Officer, Building Control Officer, suppliers and specification providers. 

2. Work with your Design Team. 

3. Provide you with a easy to use reporting structure. 

4. Complete the 3 stages. 

5. Complete your HQM Reports and Certificates within your deadlines. 

Which building regulations apply in your area?

Building regulations and energy assessments can vary according to which region your project is in. Use our checker to make sure you are aware of what you need.
Home Quality Mark (HQM)