Get a Quote

What is the Home Quality Mark (HQM)?

What is the Home Quality Mark (HQM)?

The Home Quality Mark (HQM) is a new standard which developers can voluntarily opt into to showcase their homes as being a better standard than those constructed to standard regulations.

HQM has been created to replace the Code for Sustainable Homes which is in the process of being phased out. There are many similarities between HQM and CSH (Code for Sustainable Homes), but the biggest difference is that local planning authorities do not have the power to force developers into adopting the scheme.

We’re still in our early days with the Home Quality Mark, and details continue to change.

There are dozens of categories which go above and beyond current regulations where developers can score points for meeting these goals.

In total there are 500 points available in categories as wide reaching as ecology, security, accessibility, energy efficiency and aftercare. This points are converted into a one to five star rating.

If you are familiar with building to a CSH standard and you want to continue on this path, or if you’re keen to showcase your next development as being more sustainable than the rest, the Home Quality Mark is definitely worth looking into.

Contact our Technical Team on 08458 386 387  for more information.

Stuart Clark

Author: Stuart Clark

This article was published by Stuart Clark on 27.10.2015.